Melbourne Cup Winning Trainers

Melbourne Cup Trainers

Although it's usually the horses that are the star of the show in the Melbourne Cup, it is the trainer who deserves most credit for getting his or her horse to the race in good shape. As the Melbourne Cup is a handicap, it is the trainer who needs to get their horse at the optimum weight and ensure that they get the best out of them.

Bart Cummings holds the record for the most wins of the Melbourne Cup and won this race in 2008 with the 40/1 outsider Viewed. Mark Kavanagh trains the ante-post favourite in the 2014 Melbourne Cup betting market Shocking, who won this race last year at Flemington Racecourse. Other trainers likley to saddle a runner in this years Melbourne Cup are five times winner Lee Freedman and Graeme Rogerson, a winner here two years ago with Efficient.

You can check out the latest odds for trainers horses in the 2016 Melbourne Cup by clicking here.

As far as European raiders go, Irishman Dermot Weld has been a relative success over the last ten years having saddled Media Puzzle to victory in 2002, as well as coming close on a few other occasions. Weld is hopeful that Profound Beauty can go better than her fifth place finish in 2008 and is fancied as one of the favourites by the bookmakers if she makes the trip down under.

Melbourne Cup Winning Trainers

We have compiled a list of the most successful Melbourne Cup trainers, with the aforementioned Bart Cummings topping the pile with twelve wins. Lee Freedman could have had another winner if he saddled Makybe Diva to her first Melbourne Cup win in 2003, but that honour went to David Hall before the horse's owners switched stables.

All Time Top Melbourne Cup Winning Trainers

Wins Trainer
12 Bart Cummings
5 Etienne De Mestre
5 Lee Freedman
4 John Tait
4 Walter Hickenbotham
4 Richard Bradfield
4 Jim Scobie
3 George Hanlon
3 Frank McGrath

Previous Melbourne Cup Winning Trainers

The last ten years have been dominated by Australian winning trainers of the Melbourne Cup with just Dermot Weld (2002), Japanese trainer Katsuhiko Sumii (2006), Alain De Royer-Dupre (2010) and Michael Delzangles (2011) breaking the trend. You can view a break down of results from the last ten years in our Melbourne Cup Past Winners section.

Year Winner Trainer
2015 Prince Of Penzance Darren Weir
2014 Protectionist Andreas Wohler
2013 Fiorente Gai Waterhouse
2012 Green Moon Robert Hickmott
2011 Dunaden Michael Delzangles
2010 Americain Alain De Royer-Dupre
2009 Shocking Mark Kavanagh
2008 Viewed Bart Cummings
2007 Efficient Graeme Rogerson
2006 Delta Blues Katsuhiko Sumii
2005 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2004 Makybe Diva Lee Freedman
2003 Makybe Diva David Hall
2002 Media Puzzle Dermot K. Weld
2001 Ethereal Sheila Laxon
2000 Brew Mike Moroney
1999 Rogan Josh Bart Cummings

Get the latest Melbourne Cup Tips from Channel 4 Racing's Tom Lee.