Mackinnon Stakes Betting

The Mackinnon Stakes is run on Victoria Derby Day and is part of the Melbourne Spring Carnival. Many Melbourne Cup trainers have used the Mackinnon stakes as a warm up for the Melbourne Cup the following Tuesday, especially if they are high ranking enough to avoid the ballot.

The Mackinnon Stakes is the second highest richest race on the Victoria Derby racecard with over three quarters of a million Australian dollars on offer in prize-money. It's also one of four Group 1 races on the card.

2016 Mackinnon Stakes Odds

Odds will appear here when available...

2015 Mackinnon Stakes Result

  Horse/SP Draw Age Jockey Trainer
1st Gailo Chop 7/1 4 4 B Melham A De Watrigant
2nd Rising Romance 15/1 11 5 D Lane Hayes/Dabernig
3rd Contributor 8/1 6 5 J McDonald J O'Shea

Get the latest odds on the 2016 Emirates Melbourne Cup.

In terms of Melbourne Cup trends this race usued to be used a lot more as preparation for the Melbourne Cup three days later but it's ten years since Rogan Josh managed to win both.

Mackinnon Stakes Winners Melbourne Cup Form

Here is a list of winners from the Mackinnon Stakes over the last ten years and what they went on to achieve in the Melbourne Cup.

Year Mackinnon Stakes Winners Melbourne Cup Form
2015 Gailo Chop DNR
2014 Happy Trails DNR
2013 Side Glance DNR
2012 Kelinni 4th
2011 Glass Harmonium DNR
2010 So You Think 2/1F finished 3rd
2009 Scenic Shot DNR
2008 Theseo DNR
2007 Sirmione 12/1 finished 12th
2006 Desert War DNR
2005 Lad of the Manor DNR
2004 Grand Armee DNR
2003 Casual Pass DNR
2002 Lonhro DNR
2001 La Bella Dama DNR
2000 Oliver Twist DNR
1999 Rogan Josh 5/1 finished 1st

Because the Mackinnon Stakes and Melbourne Cup are so close together the winner of the Mackinnon Stakes can quite often find themselves on a good weight for the big race, but as you can see from the table above, less and less winners go on to race in the Melbourne Cup the same year.

Check out all the latest bookmaker offers and free bets for the 2016 Emirates Melbourne Cup.

£20 Risk Free First bet

New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your FIRST bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is  £20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion. T&Cs apply. Paddy's Rewards Club: Get a  £10 free bet when you place 5x bets of  £10+. T&Cs apply.

£20 Risk Free First bet

New customers only, limited