Melbourne Cup Jockeys

Melbourne Cup Jockeys

When you are looking at your 2016 Melbourne Cup betting you'd better be sure the horse you bet on has got a good jockey onboard. The jockey is something that is quite often overlooked when assessing the form or trends but it's vital to have someone riding who either knows the track or knows the horse (preferably both). In the modern racing era stable jockeys are something of the norm and you'll see jockeys racing primarily for one trainer or owner.

Frankie Dettori for example rides for the Godolphin stable all over the world and has tried his luck without success in the Melbourne Cup.

Those jockeys with success in the Melbourne Cup tend to be from Australia, with bags of experience riding at Flemington Racecourse and the Melbourne Cup itself. Keep this in mind when you're checking through your Melbourne Cup form. In 2003 the first female jockey to take part in the Melbourne Cup was Claire Lindop where she finished 19th out of twenty-three on Debben, whilst Michelle Payne became the first female to win the race in 2015 aboard Prince Of Penzance.

You can check out the latest odds for trainers horses in the 2016 Melbourne Cup by clicking here.

Melbourne Cup Winning Jockeys

The first Aboriginal to ride a Melbourne Cup winner was Frank Reys who rode Gala Supreme to victory in 1973. Bobby Lewis and Harry White share the title of jockey's to win the Melbourne Cup the most having both won it four times, albeit in very different era's. Glen Boss is one win short of that record after riding Makybe Diva to three successive winners and will be a jockey to look out for in 2010.

Wins Jockey Year
4 Bobby Lewis 1902, 1915, 1919, 1927
4 Harry White 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979

Past Melbourne Cup Winning Jockeys

The jockey's to look out for in the 2014 Melbourne Cup include previous winners Kerrin McEvoy, who won in 2000, and Damian Oliver, who win in 2002 and 2013.

Year Winner Jockey
2015 Prince Of Penzance Michelle Payne
2014 Protectionist Ryan Moore
2013 Fiorente Damian Oliver
2012 Green Moon Brett Pebble
2011 Dunaden Christophe-Patrice Lemaire
2010 Americain Gerald Mosse
2009 Shocking Corey Brown
2008 Viewed Blake Shinn
2007 Efficient Michael Rodd
2006 Delta Blues Yasunari Iwata
2005 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2004 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2003 Makybe Diva Glen Boss
2002 Media Puzzle Damien Oliver
2001 Ethereal Scott Seamer
2000 Brew Kerrin McEvoy
1999 Rogan Josh John Marshall

Get the latest Melbourne Cup tips from Tom Lee of Channel 4 Racing.