Cox Plate Betting

The Tatts Cox Plate is known to be the 'Age for Weight Championship' of Australia and attracts Melbourne Cup trainers to enter their runners because of the huge prize fund on offer. The race is run just a couple of weeks before the Melbourne Cup and to most onlookers in Europe it seems a strange Melbourne Cup trial due to the fact it is run over just 8 furlongs.

The winner of the Tattersalls Cox Plate is exempt from the Melbourne Cup ballot so there is some incentive for those trainers who think they might not make the cut on form alone, plus it's a good little prep race before the real thing a week or two later.

2017 Cox Plate Odds

Odds will appear here when available......

2016 Cox Plate Result

  Horse/SP Draw Age Weight Jockey Trainer
1st Winx 4/5 Fav 3 5 9-0 H Bowman C Waller
2nd Hartnell 4/1 7 5 9-4 J McDonald J O'Shea
3rd Yankee Rose 12/1 1 3 7-7 D Yendall D Vandyke

The winner of the 2016 Cox Plate was the superstar Winx, who retained the coveted crown in stunning fashion.

For the latest 2016 Emirates Melbourne Cup betting odds click here.

Cox Plate Winners Record in the Melbourne Cup

A bit like the Caulfield Cup, the winner of the Cox Plate isn't necessarily the runner that should be fancied for the Melbourne Cup itself. Only six horses have ever completed the Plate/Cup double and the Cox Plate is seen by many Melbourne Cup trainers to be just a warm up for the big one, with a win of course a huge bonus.

You can see from the list below that only Makybe Diva went on to run in the Melbourne Cup and she managed to win both.

Year Cox Plate Winners Melbourne Cup Form
2016 Winx Yet To Run
2015 Winx DNR
2014 Adelaide DNR
2013 Shamus Award DNR
2012 Ocean Park DNR
2011 Pinker Pinker DNR
2010 So You Think 2/1F finished 3rd
2009 So You Think DNR
2008 Maldivian DNR
2007 El Segundo DNR
2006 Fields of Omagh DNR
2005 Makybe Diva 17/5f finished 1st
2004 Savabeel DNR
2003 Fields of Omagh DNR
2002 Northerly DNR
2001 Northerly DNR
2000 Sunline DNR
1999 Sunline DNR

For all the latest bookmaker offers and free bets click here.